A user of our forum has just reported something that I have experienced myself. USER1 wrote, “Is it just me, or is anyone else getting cryptic greetings on the main page before logging in. Like just this morning, it called me ‘USER2’ (Welcome back … etc.).”
I have had the same experience, where when returning to the site and being no longer logged in because of a login timeout, the site welcomes me back as a different user — one that has never logged into that browser or this computer. The user is a subscriber, non-admin. It seems to be the same user every time.
I have now disabled “Store guest information in a cookie for subsequent visits” in hopes of avoiding the problem.