Support Forum

Deleting Users and Reassigning Posts

JI jim
jim
Member

I know you can reassign posts from within SP, but my question is this:

When deleting a user and reassigning his posts from the WP User Admin, will that also reassign forum posts and topics started by that user? If not will they need to be reassigned individually, or can that be done in bulk? Before or after the user is deleted?

With news of the recent brute force bot attacks, I’m considering deleting “admin” accounts but would need to map all blog posts, forum posts, and topics started by Admin to User X (who has SP Admin permissions). Any recommendations for doing this efficiently are appreciated. Thanks!

5 Answers

New Answer

MP Mr Papa
Mr Papa
Member

No, that wont work… If you delete a user, his posts will change to be from a guest user…

I would probably create the new user and use a db query to move the posts to the new user… but moving subscriptions, buddies, stuff like that is problematic… moving the user info, topics, posts, etc is pretty straight forward…

We do have an open ticket for better options on what to do with a users posts when deleting a user… just wont make it into 5.3 in next few weeks…

JI jim
jim
Member

Thanks for the quick feedback, glad I asked before attempting!

Sounds like it may be easier to just change the Admin user name in the db. Any thoughts about that are also appreciated.

MP Mr Papa
Mr Papa
Member

think so… there are multiple plugins that make it easy to do…

pushing to get 5.3 out in conjunction with WP 3.6 here in next few weeks… then we need to finish the mobile stuff… but this user deletion stuff is at the top of the next items list…

JI jim
jim
Member

Mr Papa said
… but moving subscriptions, buddies, stuff like that is problematic…

One more quick related question, hopefully:

Will deleting a user remove their topic subscriptions?

I’m asking for a different reason now. We’ll be cleaning up our database soon, and I’m wondering if deleting a user will delete that user’s subscriptions. That would be ideal in this case. (If the user requests to be deleted, we don’t want them to continue receiving notifications.)

Anybody happen to know if the same goes for registered users subscribed to blog comments via the “Subscribe To Comments” plugin?

MP Mr Papa
Mr Papa
Member

yes… if you properly remove a wp user, it will remove any sp subscriptions that user had…