Here’s a rather alarming issue that requires further investigation ASAP…
Recently, in my efforts to prune our WP multisite database, I deleted a user’s site that was created by one of our Forums moderators. After deleting the site (not the user account) the member reported her post count in the forums had reverted to 0 and all her old posts were now attributed to “Guest” with the default avatar.
Thinking this may have had something to do with our recent database pruning efforts, I replicated the issue with the same results. Notes follow…
- User x is a member of site running SimplePress forums. In our case, this is site ID 1 since we only run forums on the main site.
- User creates a new site, and continues using forums with post count stats updating as expected.
- Super Admin deletes site created by user.
- User is no longer Forums member with all posts reassigned to guest.
- If a Moderator, user is no longer listed in Moderators group.
- User is still a member of the site at assigned level (in our case, subscriber) but is no longer a member of the Forums.
I strongly suggest any WP multisite Super Admins out there do not delete sites of members who are active in their Forums.
I also highly recommend this gets tested more thoroughly on a multisite install to confirm replication of the behavior.
Something is clearly triggering deletion of a SF membership from the forums if a site they created is deleted. This should only occur if their user account is deleted, not their site.
FYI: In our case, the user had multiple sites. The other site they created remains intact as does their membership on our main site. But their Forums usergroup and posts were adversely affected for some reason upon deletion of the one site they had created. In the case when I replicated the behavior, the user had only one site which upon deletion removed the user’s Moderator status and reassigned all forum posts to Guest.
I’m happy to help test this further. What other information can I provide? Here’s what i suggest…
- On a multisite install running SPF, create a test Moderator account with multiple posts.
- Use that account to create a new site.
- Log back in with Super Admin account and delete site created by that user. Do not delete the user account.
- Visit forums and notice how that user is no longer member of Moderators group and that all posts have been reassigned.
Is it just me?

