I am trying to understand and wrap my head around how the users and user groups work for SP.
I have a membership that when people purchase it they are added to a specific WP User Role. I have then mapped that User Role with the User Groups in SP. I am finding however when the WP User Role is changed back to Subscriber from Paid Member (when they cancel their membership or it expires) the person is not being removed from the SP User Group associated with Paid Member.
I think it is because I do not have the box checked that states: Users are limited to single usergroup membership.
If I check that box now (I have about 40 people on my forum) what will happen? Will those people be added to the SP User Group associated with the WP User Role (based on the User Group Mapping Settings)? My fear is that by changing this it will cause irrevocable damage to my forum and the users that are on it.
I’m assuming that I shouldn’t have to move people in and out of SP User Groups manually when someone’s membership expires and their WP User Role is changed. Is this how I would handle monitoring people’s access to the forum when their membership expires?
I hope this makes sense, but I would be happy to clarify anything that seems unclear.
Thank you!