it pulls the users from the database… so doubt they have been deleted… or if you deleted them, they were not deleted via the wp api… which means you might have mismatch between wp users and supplemental sp user info… when wp deletes a user, it notifies plugins so they can also remove any extra info…
how many rows in wp users table in database? how many in sfmembers table in database?