When a user on the WP side is deleted, WP offers to reassign posts to another existing members, before really deleting that user, as an alternative to wiping out also that user’s submitted posts and links. That proves a very useful feature when e.g. there’s a problem with that user’s database record and you just need to delete and re-create; it avoids that all existing posts end up in unassigned limbo.
Of course, this does require that the new user has already been created before deleting the old one and take over that old one’s posts.
No idea how complex this is – but my suggestion would be to essentially hook into that “last chance to reassign” routine, and offer to also (or separately) reassign all SPF posts created by the old user.
Currently, all existing posts on the SPF side end up assigned to a “guest” type user, with a blank user profile.