Is it OK if I delete the exiting SP plugin?
Support Forum
was it ever installed? if you do an uninstall, it will remove any data for the forum… If you never got it installed, then yes, you can delete it…
your server settings may require wp to ftp the plugin for install.. if so, and you are having issues ftp’ing yourself, likely wp would have the same problem…
It won’t let me install because it’s already installed (5.5.2 is installed).
I deleted it because I have already deleted the files from the server. I guess I misunderstood an earlier post where I thought I was instructed to do that. So my data must be gone. I would only have it back if I restored the backup again.
So I deleted the SP plugin, then ran the new plugin via the WP installer.
I’m afraid I didn’t solve anything because I’ll have to restore 5.5.2 to get my data and I’ll be right back where I was.
sorry, not sure what you are saying…admittedly, have not read all 5 pages of this thread…
removing the plugin from your server (deleting files) will not remove the data… data is only removed if you uninstall from within the plugin admin itself with confirmation…
and having or version of code (not data) on the server does not affect the wp install or uploading via ftp.. if you had 5.5.2 installed, after installing or uploading 5.5.3, it would ask you to upgrade…
Wait. It might have worked.
Am updating SP plugins and themes.
Will report back in a minute.
That really IS good news and I am sorry this took so long to get fixed up.
As I said, somewhere buried above!, this is the first time I have seen some of these conditions. I think the major two are (1) WordPress stating it has updated the plugin when clearly it had not and (2) Disallowing you access to the menu item to finish the database upgrade,
I do not even know or am able to recommend how you could go about even checking those conditions! What we need to try and avoid is a repeat of this on subsequent upgrades and releases. But at least if there s a problem you do have a manual option to hand.
This just leaves us puzzled and I don’t like being puzzled in this way!
But at least if there s a problem you do have a manual option to hand.
Actually, it’s not the manual option that worked in the end. (It may have done but I never finished uploading those files.)
After Mr. Papa posted and I tried the “add new plugin” installation from my WP dashboard, I saw that it was not allowing me to install because SP was already installed.
When I asked Mr. Papa if I could delete the existing SP plugin, he said I would lose my data if I did that.
However, I had already deleted all the files on the server. So there was nothing to “lose” inside there anymore.
My thinking was: if deleting the innards of the SP plugin meant I lost my data then I’d have to restore the backup again anyway (because I had already deleted those innards when I deleted files on the server}, so nothing to lose by deleting the plugin via the dashboard.
So I pressed “delete plugin” and then pressed the button to confirm. When the SP plugin was gone, I installed the upgrade zipfile from within WP using “add plugin” mode.
That is what worked.
I expected to find an empty forum, but everything was there (is there).
I’m very relieved to have it all back and working.
I got out of my depth pretty quickly in this topic but have watched it throughout, and glad to see you got it sorted in the end!